A Substitute for War

Basketball philosophy

2011 NBA POY Watch 1/31

with 7 comments

My version of the NBA MVP list. Updated weekly.

Player (Last Week’s Rank)

1. Derrick Rose (1)

The Bulls keep winning and now have home court advantage over all but 2 teams in the league, and both of those teams are ensemble teams with no real viable MVP candidate. Rose is on everyone’s mind now. I’ll try to expand on this in an article soon, for now, here’s Henry Abbott ranting against people like me who have Rose at #1.

2. Dirk Nowitzki (3)

Dirk’s back. Still not at full strength, but enough for the Mavs to stop their slide. Showing what we’d expect to happen if Dirk was going to climb back to the front of the race.

3. Dwight Howard (2)

Putting up some big numbers, but that big win streak from before seems to have been an illusion. The Magic right now just aren’t as good as what we’ve seen the past couple years. It will be strange if this ends up being the year Dwight breaks through and gets the award.

4. Chris Paul (4)

The Hornets’ 10 game streak ends, but they still look to be in good shape, and Paul looks more engaged that he has at other times this season.

5. Manu Ginobili (5)

At this point, it’s hard to imagine anyone will challenge the Spurs for home court advantage in the West. If they were pulling this off with their old Duncan-defense oriented model I probably look at them as the title favorites, but with the Ginobili-offense model, I still have a really hard time seeing them win the whole thing.

6. LeBron James (7)

James keeps hovering. Too good to ignore, but the Heat aren’t good enough for me to seriously look at him as an MVP candidate.

7. Kevin Durant (8)

Still waiting for the Thunder to make me believe they can challenge the title contenders, but maybe I’m expecting too much? The reality is I’d still draft Durant before Rose without hesitation.

8. Dwyane Wade (9)

Wade hovers, a bit below LeBron. At least for now LeBron as team MVP seems clear.

9. Deron Williams (6)

The Jazz appear to be falling apart, with rumors of Deron being the next star to pine to join a superteam. Y’know, I got why LeBron wanted to leave Cleveland, but I think it’s pretty pathetic when guys on teams with solid supporting casts aren’t satisfied.

10. Kobe Bryant (10)

A big discussion week on the topic of the Black Mamba. I remain unsatisfied no matter where I rank him this year.

 

Written by Matt Johnson

January 31, 2011 at 1:39 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […]  See Monday’s post.  This gets updated […]

  2. Very good list and placement of Lebron and Amare im tired of ESPN hyping these guys up. Although I would swap Wade and Lebron.

    Moses

    February 2, 2011 at 6:03 am

    • Thanks,

      I gotta be honest, I don’t get LeBron vs Wade debate at this point. Not saying it’s a blowout in LeBron’s favor, but he seems the clear team MVP for me. Care to elaborate on your thinking?

      Matt Johnson

      February 4, 2011 at 10:35 am

  3. Do you have any thoughts on the Wade MVP-train? It’s alreasy started, and I imagine with a good month most media members will have in the top 2 or 3.

    ElGee

    February 3, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    • Yeah, like I said, I’m not really sold. Wade’s clearly worthy of such status generally, but he seems like then #2 guy on a team that isn’t having unreal success. Anyone who has him so high on the MVP list is clearly focused on individual production and record more team synergy.

      Matt Johnson

      February 4, 2011 at 10:37 am

  4. Let me just say, I really dislike Henry Abbot for a multitude of reasons. Most of them are biased (I’m a Cavs fan, and he spent the better part of the summer ripping Cavs fans for their reaction to the decision), but I seriously get tired of his elitist writing. If you disagree with Henry, then my god you must be an idiot!!

    fyatroll

    February 3, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    • Your voice is heard my friend. Personally I like Abbott and most of what he writes, but then I haven’t been singled out for criticism by him like y’all have, so that obviously makes anyone easier to stomach.

      Matt Johnson

      February 4, 2011 at 10:49 am


Leave a Reply

